Digging deep…

Hello you, Its a beautiful wednesday today, and there’s this matter that has been on my heart for a few days, its a scripture passage actually. So I thought we could take a break from the normal routine of this blog and ‘dig deep’ into the word….So get your shovels ready people, its time to dig!

I love the scriptures, i like to call it the Manual for life, given to us by God so we know exactly how we ought to function in this world. The word of God is alot of things and it is also complete, every of life’s questions has an answer in the word if we’d only be diligent enough to dig for it. The problem is, digging requires energy that most of us do not want to exert, it also requires patience and that’s something else we are often unwilling to exercise, so our answers stay buried in the word and we roam around cluless, seeking answers were there are none and accepting half truths where we find some. This is my preamble.😊

Now to the crux of the matter. (In my pastors voice) Open with me to Romans 8:28…

read it yet?

Its familiar right? its very common place to hear this scripture quoted, i think sometimes people don’t even know its scripture, they just quote it. Owww, just in case you didn’t open with me, this is the scripture we are digging into today

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.
Romans 8:28 KJV”

 

So let me backtrack a bit, to what set me digging in the first place. I was reading a book written by a man of God that i consider my spiritual Father (although i know I’d never meet him this side of life because he has gone to be with the lord), and he wrote about how Jesus told him that he (my spiritual father) had been living only in his (Jesus’s) permissive will for many years and not in his perfect will. Romans 12:2 makes mention of God’s Good, acceptable (some call it permissive) and perfect will, but that’s a story for another day. So i got thinking, how many times have i walked in God’s persmissive will, just getting by but never really hitting the mark of what He (God) desires for me, or wait, how many times have i been completely out of His will? I don’t know about you, but speaking for myself i know I’ve been in both situations quite a number of times. So what happens when we miss the course like this?

You see this is where Romans 8:28 comes in. God is such an amazing sombori Father that he never allows a single experience go to waste. The moment you make a wrong choice, make a mistake, disobey him or walk out of his will, he’s back on the drawing board re-ordering things to see that we can still pick a lesson or two even in that ‘wrong’ place that we are in. Someone once told me this, “mistake is design”. I see God like a farmer saying, “even though the fruit is rottening we can still make manure of it instead of just discarding it”. He finds a way to still bring good out of everything bad, Isn’t that just amazing!?

So indeed all things do work together for the good of them that love God, the good, the bad and the mistakes all working to produce GOOD. With God, no experience is wasted. I look back to points in my still very short life, where i made choices that I know weren’t exactly God’s choice for me, and even in those “mistakes” i can see how God taught me lessons that are still relevant to my life today. If i hadn’t made those ‘wrong’ choices would I ever have learnt those lessons? Yes, i believe so, God always makes a way. But when we are blind enough not to walk in the straight and narrow path he has paved for us, he is merciful enough to see to it that even the diversions we take still bring us back to where he’d have us be.

Dear one, please don’t be satisfied with just getting by in God’s permissive will, but if for some reason you find yourself there or completely out of his will, know this. It’s not a hopeless situation. He’s going to make this work out for your good too. Keep your eyes open and your heart on him.

Hope you enjoyed digging with me. Till whenever, always remember Jesus rules!!

Leave a Reply

