Dreamer…part 5

Hello beautiful you, it’s short story friday! And although some people have threatened to stop reading my blog if i don’t end this story soon, the story must go on.😊 So its PART 5 today who knows, it may just end today, read on….

(If you’ve missed any part, just follow these links…. Dreamer….Part 1Dreamer…part 2Dreamer…. Part 3Dreamer…part 4)

……it was Caleb! calling at 2am in the morning, Who does that? I asked myself again, who does that? It had been a whole week since he took my number and I had managed to put him out of my dreams and out of my mind. Or wait a minute, maybe I was dreaming again. I proceeded to pinch myself just to confirm. No, not a dream, the soreness of the area i had just pinched was evidence enough. I was wide awake. And Caleb was speaking on the other end of the phone. I heard him ask if I was upset, upset? Of course I was upset? And it wasn’t just because of the call, the past few weeks with him popping up in unexpected places was more than upsetting and I was at the brink of loosing it. But politely I said “no, I’m not upset” and in a very calm voice asked why he had called. He went quiet for a minute and then said “this is totally out of character for me, but I couldn’t stop thinking about you”. Huh? Okay that wasn’t the answer i had expected at all. I started laughing, not in delight but in amazement, this was beginning to seem like a prank..only i couldn’t tell who was pulling it. I laughed till tears began to form in my eyes, I was beginning to feel like I was in a movie and truly i’ve never been too good at acting. When I finally stopped laughing I realized he had gone quiet, i actually thought he had ended the call till he said “I never knew I was that funny” I sighed, not knowing what to say, not knowing where to start, i just blurted out the first thing that came to my head,”did you dream about me?” I couldn’t see his face, but his tone when he said ‘no’ told me he was confused about my question, but i didn’t say anything more. So he hadn’t dreamt about me, then why was he calling at two in the morning? Why was I even on his mind? I didnt realise the silence had dragged on till he said “you know what? This was all a mistake, I should have known better, sorry for waking you, goodnight” I didn’t get the chance to reply before he cut the line; I stared at the phone, a bit puzzled, was I to call him back? But what would I say? I put off my phone instead and lay back down, once again a good night’s sleep had been interrupted and i had more questions than answers, the whole thing was becoming rather unnerving. I sighed.

Later that morning as I got ready for work I remembered the ‘disturbing’ call, yes it was disturbing because coupled with the dreams I had been having I was becoming concerned. I didn’t want to believe that my mum’s interpretation was right. I just couldn’t see myself being married to him. Caleb and I didn’t have much history together, we had never been much of friends he being five years older than I was. I just observed him from a distance, he and my brother had been friends and he was my dad’s ideal son. That was it. He was good looking, no doubt, God-loving and very principled but I felt he was too stiff, and no fun at all. And I just couldn’t live with a man that was so formal, authoritative and rigid no matter how God fearing he was. He seemed like a man that would relate with his family like he did with his employees, for me that would be a nightmare. Whatever was happening, I intended to get to the bottom of it and fast. So I picked up my phone and dialed his number, unfortunately for me he picked it up on the first ring and I hadn’t rehearsed my speech yet. I wanted to be upset but before i could get in a word he said “let me apologise for this morning…” and I found myself calming down. All i could do was wave it off and say all was forgiven. When he spoke again, I caught a hint of a smile in his voice, he sounded a little bit too happy, almost childish and i couldnt help but raise my brows in suspicion. He suggested that we see later that day so he could explain himself in person. Well that was fine by me, i just really wanted to understand what was going on. So we agreed to meet and talk after work. He said goodbye and I ended the call. I looked at my phone and shook my head, he just sounded too happy for my rest of mind. Something was definitely up……

I know someone wants my head on a platter…sorry dear, the story still continues next week…😊…look at it like a seasonal movie😉….till then, always, always remember,…..#JESUSRULES!

3 thoughts on “Dreamer…part 5

  1. Ben March 30, 2017 / 6:36 am

    I think your story is a fiction tho….I can see “after work”. OK keep it coming then

    Like

    • Folasade March 30, 2017 / 9:05 am

      Hmm..thanks

      Like

Leave a Reply

