Victorious and still fighting.

ee06536a7e8fec24299962b8719a098a.jpg

Its never sweet to lose

Never a boast to be defeated

No one goes into a battle with the plan to concede defeat

No one partakes in a race hoping to come last

But even when we don’t desire to fail

And in times  when we are sure we would triumph

We suddenly realise that we’ve been beaten hands down

The race is over and we are last in tow

The crowd is cheering but not for us

And its because we lost.

Few weeks ago I shared about my war with sleep (you can get that story here), and my strategy to win. Well today is testimony time! Let me gist you how its been thus far.

The first week after initiation of the strategy  was  indeed great, in fact DIVINE is a better word. I was up early, had time to fellowship with my heavenly Father in a fully awake and alert state, I was more productive, in fact everything was so good (glorious). “This God is too good o….” was the song on my lips. Then that week passed and with it my victory song. I can’t tell what changed but it appears like God himself is working against me, I have become deaf to my alarm(s),  time runs when I’m not looking, or maybe its being stolen, I don’t even know. Things just dont seem to be working in my favour sha. Its been pretty  annoying and frustrating.

The first few days after things went from glorious to ‘unglorious’ I was all bravado, things weren’t ok o, but I kept saying “lai lai, I wont let the devil steal my joy……things aren’t working the way they should but I’d still rejoice” etc etc. its week 2 of this ‘ungloriousness’ and my ginger has reduced wella. At a point I was a bit tempted to ask God if he’s sleeping on my matter. because I’ve prayed, I’ve spoken the word, I’ve believed, I’ve planned I’ve executed come on, what else? 

But as always my father is faithful, he said he’d send us a comforter and he did.

John 14:16

16 And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper (Comforter, Advocate, Intercessor—Counselor, Strengthener, Standby), to be with you forever— 

 

This counselor has taught me a number of things from my trial (it doesnt have to be a total catastrophe before its a trial, its little by little before we get to Bro Job’s level). You see, trials don’t mean that God is absent, it just means you are being groomed. Imagine if you always have answers the minute you asked, how would you learn to trust Him? Whats the need of faith if there’s nothing to believe God for? How can we say we’ve passed if we are never tested?

The beautiful thing about being a child of this wonderful God is that we know the end from the begining. And the end is that “We ALWAYS win”!. So we stand in that victory and continue to fight in confidence.

Romans 8:37

37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors and gain an overwhelming victory through Him who loved us [so much that He died for us].

 

So i’m not going to let the present  frustrate me, naa. I’m not giving up o. I’m Just going to suit up in my armour and be ready for battle (the spiritual kind😊). So the devil may choose to make things even more difficult for me, that’s his palava. I’m not defeated, I can never be. Not when Jesus triumphed on the cross.

You might wonder why i’m taking this so serious (just small sleep issue o), well to me it is not small at all. We learn to win the small battles first because bigger ones would SURELY come.

Luke 17:1

He said to his disciples, “Hard trials and temptations are bound to come…”

 

Sometimes we overlook issues in our lives because they seem liknormal experiences. You always fall sick and you say its the weather, after Jesus says he took your sickness away.

Mathew 8:17

so that He fulfilled what was spoken by the prophet Isaiah: “He Himself took our infirmities[upon Himself] and carried away our diseases.”

 

You are alway moody and you say its you temperament after Jesus said his joy is your strength

Nehemiah 8:10b

“…..And do not be worried, for the joy of the Lord is your strength and your stronghold.”

 

You are failing exams and you say you are just not smart like that when the word of God says you’d always be the head.

Deuteronomy 28:13

13 The Lord will make you the head (leader) and not the tail (follower); and you will be above only, and you will not be beneath, if you listen and pay attention to the commandments of the Lord your God, which I am commanding you today, to observe them carefully.

 

There are so many times we see the acts (lies) of satan as normal occurrences in our lives when if we would only check THE WORD we’d see THE TRUTH.

I have a friend who says “somethings are just natural don’t spritualise them”. Well I’ve come to know that everything in our lives either have a spiritual origin or a spiritual consequence. While I don’t like people ‘over-spiritualising’ things too, I’ve noticed that in our bid to be normal (and not too spirikoko) we ‘under-spiritualise’ spiritual things. Remember;

Ephesians 6:12

12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities,against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

 

Too many of us (children of God) are completely naive to the fact that we are at WAR. If you are truly a child of God, then the devil is out to get you! But dont be scared darling, just be sensitive and know when its him at work, don’t accept any rubbish he throws your way. And even when it appears he is wining (like i feel right now). Remember we know the outcome of this battle, WE ALWAYS WIN, I’d be laughing last and laughing hard😂. But for now I stand in victory and continue fighting.

John 16:33

33 I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have[perfect] peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.]. Amplified

Leave a Reply

